expaNsion and Retention

About Us

Serving the economic interests of Mitchell County Iowa. We'd love to talk to you about why Mitchell County is the place to support your businesses needs and provide you with a gratifying place to reside.

Contact us
work with us

what we do.

The Commission works with our Economic Development Executive Director to encourage economic development, including business recruitment, retention and expansion, workforce development, and more.

Mitchell County Court House
Our History

21 Years of Economic Growth.

The Mitchell County Economic Development Commission (MCEDC) was created in June 2000 to ensure the best possible economic development effort for the county. The nine-member board represents the city councils and economic development groups from Osage, Riceville, St. Ansgar and Stacyville, along with a County Supervisor.

Meaning and impact

Our Team

Members of the MCEDC are committed to working together to achieve the economic development goals for Mitchell County. It is our hope that this effort will make possible a continual increase in the standard of living for county residents.
Director: Jenny Backer
Marketing and Administrative Assistant: Tracy Scharper

We invite you to Come Join Us and take a closer look at Mitchell County.

The MCEDC Board

Rep of County Supervisors

Todd Frein

Rep of St. Ansgar Economic Development

Randy Marcks

Rep of City of Riceville

Kellie Daughtrey

Rep of City of Stacyville

Roger Hemann

Rep of Osage Economic Development

Michelle Russell

Rep of City of Osage

Larry Mork

Treasurer/ Rep of Stacyville Economic Development

Harlan Bisbee

Chairperson/ Rep of City of St. Ansgar

Sam Heimer

Rep of Riceville Area Development

Mark Jensen

View our Agenda & Minutes -> 


Contact Us

If you have any questions for us, you are welcome to use the form or call our office. We will get back to you as soon as we can.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.